# Quick Reference Guide for Kentucky Minor Qualified Patients



## Application and purchasing process

### Visit two practitioners

A minor qualified patient applicant must visit a medical cannabis practitioner in-person to **obtain an initial written certification**. Minors must also receive a diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition from a second practitioner.

### Submit minor patient application

The minor qualified patient must apply online through the patient and caregiver registry portal and provide:

- Documentation of a diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition accompanied by a written certification
- Signed and notarized signature form with responsibility statement signed by parent or legal guardian
- Caregiver information
- Application fee

The Cabinet will approve or deny the minor patient's application within thirty (30) days of receiving a completed application.

### Submit caregiver application

Once the minor patient's application has been approved, the designated caregiver must also **apply** and provide:

- Patient registry ID number
- Signed and notarized signature form with responsibility statement
- Application fee

### Receive registry ID cards

The Cabinet will approve or deny the caregiver's application within 30 days of receiving a completed application. If the application is approved, the caregiver will receive a **digital registry ID card**, and the patient's ID card will become valid.

### Caregiver may purchase medical cannabis

The designated caregiver must **purchase medical cannabis for the qualified minor patient** at a licensed dispensary and control the patient's supply and dosage.

### Additional information

### Qualifications for minor applicants

- Resident of Kentucky
- Under the age of eighteen (18) years old
- Received a diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition from a practitioner and obtained a written certification from a medical cannabis practitioner
- Must not have any disqualifying felony convictions
- Custodial parent or legal guardian agrees to minor's use of medical cannabis and will serve as the minor's designated caregiver

### Qualifications for caregivers of minors

 Custodian parent or legal guardian with responsibility for health care decisions for the minor qualified patient and otherwise eligible to serve as a designated caregiver

### Qualifying medical conditions

- Any type or form of cancer regardless of stage
- > Chronic, severe, intractable, or debilitating pain
- Epilepsy or other intractable seizure disorder
- Multiple sclerosis, muscle spasms, or spasticity
- Chronic nausea or cyclical vomiting syndrome
- Post-traumatic stress disorder

### 30-day supply limit by product form<sup>1</sup>

112 grams of raw plant material;

28 grams of concentrate<sup>2</sup>; or

**3,900 milligrams** of THC infused medical cannabis products such as edibles

# Initial and renewal registry ID card fees for minor qualified patients

| Cardholder type         | Annual fee |
|-------------------------|------------|
| Initial application fee | \$25       |
| Annual renewal fee      | \$25       |

<sup>1</sup> Medical cannabis practitioners may recommend exceptions to established supply limits under certain conditions.

<sup>2</sup> Caregivers of minors may not purchase or administer products intended for consumption by vaporization.

#### Resources

For more information, visit the Office of Medical Cannabis website at: <u>https://kymedcan.ky.gov/</u>, including Patient and Caregiver FAQs, the Qualified Patient and Designated Caregiver Guide, and Quick Reference Guides for Designated Caregiver, Visiting Qualified Patient, and In-state Qualified Patient (18+) applicants.