# How To Guide for Kentucky Medical Cannabis Product Transportation



# **Transporting Medical Cannabis Products**

Registered cardholders are allowed to possess and transport the **standard supply** of medical cannabis in raw plant material or product format equivalency provided below:

Supply/Product	Raw Plant Material	Concentrates	THC-Infused	Non-Consumable (Topical)
30-day supply*	112 grams (4 ounces)	28 grams	3,900 milligrams	N/A
10-day supply	37.5 grams	9.5 grams	1,300 milligrams	N/A

<sup>\*</sup>An authorized medical cannabis practitioner may increase or decrease the supply limit per product format in a qualified patient's written certification.

Registry ID cardholder type	Transport from dispensary to cardholder's residence (if contained in an unopened package)	Carry on person (excluding transportation from dispensary)	
In-state qualified patient	30-day supply	10-day supply	
Minor qualified patient	Not allowed*		
Designated caregiver	30-day supply (per registered patient)	10-day supply (per registered patient)	
Visiting qualified patient	10-day supply 10-day supply		

<sup>\*</sup>Minor qualified patients cannot possess medical cannabis and may only use of medical cannabis with the assistance of their designated caregiver(s).



# Required activities



Carrying your medical cannabis registry
 ID card when in possession of medical cannabis products



 Keeping medical cannabis in its original container during transport



 Maintaining at least a two-step process to access medical cannabis while driving or operating machinery



 When requested by law enforcement, providing your medical cannabis card and valid ID



## **Prohibited activities**



 Driving or operating machinery under the influence of medical cannabis



 Possessing medical cannabis within arm's reach while driving or operating machinery



 Possessing or using medical cannabis on school<sup>1</sup> property except as allowed by school policy



 Traveling over state lines with your medical cannabis products

### Resources

► For more information, visit the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program website at: <a href="https://kymedcan.ky.gov/">https://kymedcan.ky.gov/</a>, including Patient and Caregiver FAQs, the Qualified Patient and Designated Caregiver Guide, and Quick Reference Guides for Designated Caregiver, Visiting Qualified Patient, and In-state Minor Qualified Patient applicants.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>"School" means a public elementary or secondary school of the state and non-public schools certified by the Kentucky Department of Education.