# Quick Reference Guide for Kentucky Visiting Qualified Patients



## Application and purchasing process

# Maintain a valid out-of-state medical cannabis registry ID card



A visiting qualified patient applicant must have a **valid out-of-state registry ID card** to apply for a registry ID card in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.<sup>1</sup>

### Submit an application

A visiting qualified patient must **apply** through the patient and caregiver registry portal or submit a paper application and provide:

- A copy of his or her valid out-ofstate registry ID card
- Documentation of a diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition
- Signed and notarized signature form
- Application fee

#### Receive a registry ID card



The Cabinet will approve or deny the application within 30 days of receiving a completed application. If the application is approved, the visiting qualified patient will receive a **digital registry ID card**, which must be printed or saved on a mobile device, or a printed registry ID card if requested.

#### Purchase medical cannabis products



A cardholder must **purchase medical cannabis** at a licensed dispensary and the following purchase options may also be available at licensed dispensaries:

- Delivery service
  Curbside pickup
- Drive-thru window

## Additional information

### Qualifications for visiting patient applicants

- Non-resident of Kentucky or new resident of Kentucky who has resided in the Commonwealth for less than thirty (30) days
- At least twenty-one (21) years old
- Diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition
- Must possess a valid out-of-state registry ID card
- Must not have any disqualifying felony convictions

### Qualifying medical conditions

- Any type or form of cancer regardless of stage
- Chronic, severe, intractable, or debilitating pain
- Epilepsy or other intractable seizure disorder
- Multiple sclerosis, muscle spasms, or spasticity
- Chronic nausea or cyclical vomiting syndrome
- Post-traumatic stress disorder

## 10-day supply limit by product form<sup>2</sup>

37.5 grams of raw plant material;

9.5 grams of concentrate; or

**1,300 milligrams** of THC infused medical cannabis products such as edibles

# Initial and renewal registry ID card fees for visiting qualified patients

Fee type	Fee
Initial application fee	\$25
Annual renewal fee	\$25

1 Visiting qualified patients are not required to obtain a Kentucky registry ID card in order to purchase medical cannabis in Kentucky. Visiting qualified patients without a Kentucky registry ID card may purchase medical cannabis at licensed dispensaries if they possess a valid out-ofstate registry ID card, one (1) other form of government-issued photo identification, and documentation of having been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition. Please see 915 KAR 1:070, Section 2(3) for additional information.

2 Visiting qualified patients are only allowed to purchase and possess up to a 10-day supply of medical cannabis.

### Resources

For more information, visit the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program website at: <u>https://kymedcan.ky.gov/</u>, including Patient and Caregiver FAQs, the Qualified Patient and Designated Caregiver Guide, and Quick Reference Guides for Designated Caregiver, In-state Qualified Patient (18+), and In-state Minor Qualified Patient applicants.