# Quick Reference Guide for Kentucky In-State Qualified Patients (18+)



# Application and purchasing process

# Visit a medical cannabis practitioner

A qualified patient applicant must visit a medical cannabis practitioner to obtain a **written certification** for a registry ID card. The initial examination must be inperson and may be maintained via telehealth.

### Submit an application



A qualified patient must **apply online** through the patient and caregiver registry portal or submit a paper application and provide:

- Caregiver information, if applicable
- Written certification
- Signed and notarized signature form
- · Application fee

#### Receive a registry ID card



The Cabinet will approve or deny the application within 30 days of receiving a completed application. If the application is approved, the qualified patient will receive a **digital registry ID card**, which must be printed or saved on a mobile device, or a printed registry ID card if requested.

#### Purchase medical cannabis products



A cardholder must **purchase medical cannabis** at a licensed dispensary and the following purchase options may also be available at licensed dispensaries:

- Delivery service
- Curbside pickup
- · Drive-thru window

# Additional information

## Qualifications for in-state patient applicants

- ► Resident of Kentucky
- ▶ At least eighteen (18) years old
- Diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition and has obtained a written certification from a medical cannabis practitioner
- Must not have any disqualifying felony convictions

### Qualifying medical conditions

- ► Any type or form of cancer regardless of stage
- ► Chronic, severe, intractable, or debilitating pain
- ► Epilepsy or other intractable seizure disorder
- ► Multiple sclerosis, muscle spasms, or spasticity
- ► Chronic nausea or cyclical vomiting syndrome
- Post-traumatic stress disorder

# 30-day supply limit by product form<sup>1</sup>

112 grams of raw plant material;

28 grams of concentrate<sup>2</sup>; or

**3,900 milligrams** of THC infused medical cannabis products such as edibles

# Initial and renewal registry ID card fees for instate qualified patients

Fee type	Fee
Initial application fee	\$25
Annual renewal fee	\$25

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Medical cannabis practitioners may recommend exceptions to established supply limits under certain conditions.

#### Resources

For more information, visit the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program website at: <a href="https://kymedcan.ky.gov/">https://kymedcan.ky.gov/</a>, including Patient and Caregiver FAQs, the Qualified Patient and Designated Caregiver Guide, and Quick Reference Guides for Designated Caregiver, Visiting Qualified Patient, and In-state Minor Qualified Patient applicants.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Cardholders under the age of 21 may not purchase or use products intended for consumption by vaporization.