# Quick Reference Guide for Kentucky **Designated Caregivers**



# Application and purchasing process

#### Verify patient eligibility

A designated caregiver may only apply if their assigned patient has been approved for a registry ID card. If the caregiver applicant is the parent or guardian of a minor patient, the caregiver applicant must be approved before the minor's ID card becomes valid.

# Submit an application

2

A designated caregiver must **apply for a registry ID card** through the patient and caregiver registry portal or submit a paper application and provide:



- Patient registry ID number
- Attestations to perform caregiver duties
- · Signed and notarized signature form
- Application fee

An application **must be submitted for each registered qualified patient** who designated the applicant as a caregiver

3

### Receive a registry ID card



The Cabinet will approve or deny the application within 30 days of receiving a completed application. If the application is approved, the designated caregiver will receive a **digital registry ID card**, which must be printed or saved on a mobile device, **or a printed registry ID card** if requested.

4

#### Purchase medical cannabis products



A designated caregiver must purchase medical cannabis for their qualified patient(s) at a licensed dispensary and the following purchase options may also be available at licensed dispensaries:

- Delivery service
- Curbside pickup
- · Drive-thru window

# Additional information

## Qualifications for caregiver applicants

- Residents of Kentucky
- ▶ At least twenty-one (21) years old
- Must not assist more than three (3) registered patients
- Must not have any disqualifying felony convictions
- ► A custodial parent or legal guardian with responsibility for health care decisions for a minor qualified patient must serve as a minor's designated caregiver

- or -

 A guardian, limited guardian, conservator, or limited conservator to the qualified patient applying for a registry ID card.

# 30-day supply limit\* by product form<sup>1</sup>

112 grams of raw plant material;

28 grams of concentrate<sup>2</sup>; or

**3,900 milligrams** of THC infused medical cannabis products such as edibles

\* A designated caregiver may purchase up to a 30day supply of medical cannabis for each registered qualified patient that he or she is connected to through the patient registry.

# Initial and renewal registry ID card fees for designated caregivers

Fee type	Fee
Initial application fee	\$25
Annual renewal fee	\$25

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Medical cannabis practitioners may recommend exceptions to established supply limits under certain conditions.

#### Resources

For more information, visit the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program website at: <a href="https://kymedcan.ky.gov/">https://kymedcan.ky.gov/</a>, including Patient and Caregiver FAQs, the Qualified Patient and Designated Caregiver Guide, and Quick Reference Guides for In-state Qualified Patient (18+), Visiting Qualified Patient, and In-state Minor Qualified Patient applicants.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Designated caregivers may not purchase products intended for consumption by vaporization for patients under the age of 21.