
What is a dispensary?
A dispensary license authorizes its holder to sell medical cannabis products from its licensed premises to registered 
qualified patients, designated caregivers, and visiting qualified patients. Dispensaries can only sell medical cannabis 
products acquired from a licensed cannabis business that has passed all tests required by 915 KAR 1:110.

Approved activities Prohibited activities

 Acquiring medical cannabis from a cultivator, 
processor, producer, or another dispensary 

 Selling and delivering medical cannabis and medical 
cannabis accessories to cardholders and qualified out-
of-state visiting patients 

 Providing educational materials to medical cardholders 
and qualified visiting patients 

 Acquiring or offering for sale medical cannabis products 
with THC content over the allowable THC limits or any 
product that contains vitamin E acetate 

 Dispensing medical cannabis products intended for 
vaporization to a cardholder younger than 21 

 Dispensing medical cannabis to minors

 Allowing any person under 18 to be on the premises 

 Locating within 1,000 feet of an existing school or daycare 
center 

Resources
 For more information about cannabis businesses, please visit the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program website at: 

https://kymedcan.ky.gov/.

Permissible methods of dispensing medical cannabis

 Purchase at physical dispensary location 

 Delivery service (if offered by dispensary)

 Drive-thru window or curbside pickup service 
 (if offered by dispensary)

Required patient education that must be provided 

Dosage amounts 

Directions for usage 

Potential impairments caused by product 
usage 

Appropriate on-site signage

Business directories

Medical publications

Informational websites

Sponsorships

Social media pages

Allowable activities and informational media

Associated financial commitments Qualifications for applicants
 Must conduct criminal background checks on 

prospective employees and not employ anyone 
under 21 or convicted of a disqualifying felony 
offense

 Cannot hold management roles or financial interests 
in a safety compliance facility 

 Must meet qualifications for licensure in the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program as detailed in                     
915 KAR 1:010E, 915 KAR 1:020E, and 915 KAR 1:070 

 May only apply for a license in one cannabis business type at a time (e.g., an applicant cannot apply                
for both a dispensary and a processor license) 

Nonrefundable application fee $5,000

Initial licensing fee $30,000

Annual licensing fee $15,000

Capital requirements $150,000

Cultivators Processors Safety Compliance 
Facilities
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