



What is a cultivator?

A cultivator license authorizes its holder to grow medical cannabis (also known as raw plant material) in an enclosed, locked facility and sell medical cannabis to a licensed medical cannabis processor, producer, or dispensary in Kentucky.

Categories of cultivator licenses and associated financial commitments				
Cultivator license category	Allowable sq. ft. of grow area	Nonrefundable application fee	Annual licensing fee	Capital requirements
Tier I	Less than or equal to 2,500 sq. ft.	\$3,000	\$12,000	\$50,000
Tier II	Less than or equal to 10,000 sq. ft.	\$10,000	\$25,000	\$200,000
Tier III	Less than or equal to 25,000 sq. ft.	\$20,000	\$50,000	\$500,000
*Tier IV	Less than or equal to 50,000 sq. ft.	\$30,000	\$100,000	\$1,000,000
*Tier IV cultivator licenses will not be available during the initial licensing phase				

Qualifications for applicants

- Must conduct a criminal background check on each person seeking to become a principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee before that person begins work and not employ, accept as a volunteer, or have as a board member, principal officer, or agent any person who was convicted of a disqualifying felony offense or is younger than 21 years of age
- Cannot hold management roles or financial interests in safety compliance facilities and must test harvest batch samples of raw plant material as required by 915 KAR 1:110
- Must meet qualifications for licensure, including facility requirements, in the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program as detailed in 915 KAR 1:010E, 915 KAR 1:020E, and 915 KAR 1:030
- May only apply for a license in one cannabis business type being offered at that time (e.g., an applicant cannot apply for both a cultivator and a dispensary license)
- May submit one license application per cultivator license tier so long as each application contains a separate and distinct physical address where the cannabis business proposes to operate

Approved activities	Prohibited activities	
Acquiring, possessing, planting, cultivating, raising, harvesting, trimming, or storing cannabis seeds, seedlings, plants, or raw plant material in an enclosed, locked facility which includes a greenhouse, building, or other indoor area.	 Cultivating medical cannabis with THC content over 35% Selling or transferring medical cannabis to any person or entity who does not hold a cannabis business license issued by the cabinet 	
 Delivering, transporting, transferring, supplying, or selling raw	 Displaying signage, logos, products, or any other identifying	
plant material or related supplies to other licensed cannabis	characteristics to alert the public that medical cannabis is being	
businesses in this state	grown at that facility	
 Selling cannabis seeds or seedlings to other licensed cultivators	 Locating within one thousand (1,000) feet of an existing	
in Kentucky	elementary school, secondary school, or daycare center	

Resources

For more information about cannabis businesses, please visit the Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program website at: <u>https://kymedcan.ky.gov/</u>.