

CABINET FOR HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES

Frederick Stine, M.D.

BOARD OF PHYSICIANS AND ADVISORS

275 East Main Street, 5-CA Frankfort, Kentucky 40621

December 21, 2023

Via Electronic Mail

Hon. Robert Stivers
President
Kentucky Senate
702 Capital Ave
Annex Room 236
Frankfort, KY 40601
Robert.Stivers@lrc.ky.gov

Hon. David Osborne
House Speaker
Kentucky House of Representatives
702 Capital Ave
Annex Room 332
Frankfort, KY 40601
David.Osborne@lrc.ky.gov

Hon. Gerald Neal Minority Floor Leader Kentucky Senate 702 Capital Avenue Annex Room 254 Frankfort, KY 40601 Gerald.Neal@lrc.ky.gov

Hon. Derrick Graham
Minority Floor Leader
Kentucky House of Representatives
702 Capital Ave.
Annex Room 472
Frankfort, KY 40601
Derrick.Graham@lrc.ky.gov

Re: Recommendation from the Board of Physicians and Advisors

Dear Legislative Leadership:

First, I want to thank you and the General Assembly for your leadership in passing 2023 R.S. Senate Bill 47, which provides Kentuckians with certain qualifying medical conditions access to medical cannabis beginning January 1, 2025. As a member of the Commonwealth's medical community, I believe this new law will have a positive impact on health outcomes for tens of thousands of Kentuckians.

I write to you now on behalf of the Kentucky Board of Physicians and Advisors to recommend that the General Assembly pass legislation in the 2024 legislative session to expand the list of "qualifying medical conditions."

As you know, in passing SB 47, the General Assembly established this Board. The Board is comprised of seven (7) physicians appointed by the Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure, and two (2) advanced practice registered nurses, appointed by the Kentucky Board of Nursing. The Board has a statutory duty to:



Review relevant peer-reviewed, scientific data related to the use of medicinal cannabis for medical, therapeutic, or palliative purposes and make recommendations to the General Assembly to add or remove conditions from the list of qualifying medical conditions defined in KRS 218B.010.

See KRS 218B.020(5)(e).

On December 19, 2023, the Board met to consider recommending the General Assembly expand the qualifying conditions in KRS 218B.010(26). After much deliberation, the Board unanimously voted to recommend the General Assembly expand the qualifying medical condition to include the following:

- 1. Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis;
- 2. Parkinson's Disease;
- 3. Irritable Bowel Disease, including Crohn's Disease or Ulcerative Colitis;
- 4. Sickle Cell Anemia;
- 5. Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome;
- 6. Neuropathies;
- 7. Arthritis;
- 8. Fibromyalgia;
- 9. Muscular Dystrophy;
- 10. Huntington's Disease;
- 11. Human Immunodeficiency virus (HIV);
- 12. Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS);
- 13. Glaucoma: and
- 14. Terminal Illness

As such, we recommend the General Assembly pass legislation in the 2024 legislative session to include these conditions as "qualifying medical conditions" under KRS 218B.010(26). It is collective, unanimous medical opinion that medicinal cannabis may have a positive medical, therapeutic, or palliative impact on Kentuckians suffering from these conditions.

The Board is aware that Hepatitis C is listed as a serious medical condition under Executive Order 2022-798, but voted not to include it in this recommendation. Rather, the Board voted to recommit Hepatitis C for additional study and review. Moreover, rather than recommending the addition of "Crohn's Disease," as listed in EO 2022-798, the Board voted to recommend the following, more comprehensive condition: "Irritable Bowel Disease, including Crohn's Disease or Ulcerative Colitis."

I want to thank you in advance for your consideration of our medical opinion and our recommendation as you continue to do your important work in the coming legislative session. We share the General Assembly and the Cabinet's goal of ensuring positive health outcomes for all Kentuckians, and we will continue to strive to accomplish that goal.

Respectfully,

Dr. Frederick Stine, D.O.

Chairman

Board of Physicians and Advisors

On Behalf of:

Dr. AnYu Chen, M.D.

Dr. Kristen Dawson, M.D.

Ryan Grell, M.D.

Dr. Linda McLain, M.D.

Dr. Charles Roberts, M.D.

Dr. Courtney Turner, M.D.

Jodi Wojcik, APRN

Anthony Carney, APRN

Cc: Hon. Stephen West

Senator – Sponsor 2023 R.S. SB 47

Hon. Jay Hartz

Director

Legislative Research Commission